In which I think of more things I wanted to write about an hour after I publish my blog post

This always happens to me!  I’ll write a post, review it, and think to myself, “Yes.  This is good.  It says everything I want it to say.”  So, accordingly, I publish it.  And then, minutes, hours, even days later, I realize there were about ten thousand other things I had mentally noted that I wanted to talk about, but of course completely forgot.  I always tell myself that I’ll write my ideas down the next time.  But do I?  Of course not!  Don’t be silly.  And now, in writing this entire paragraph, I realize that I’ve already forgotten one of the things I came here to write about.  Crap.  Maybe if I actually start it’ll come to me.

1) After waiting FIVE WEEKS (I kid you not), we finally received our metro passes.  Typical.

2) My so-cute so-comfy perfect-for-France Steve Madden boots that I bought myself as a graduation present are now ruined.  I don’t know how, when, or why, but last week I noticed that the sole was just about ready to separate itself from the rest of the shoe and sail into orbit, but only on the right boot.  The left boot is completely intact.  I took it into a shoe repair shop (they’re everywhere here, thanks to the cobblestone streets), but the cobbler said it was so damaged that there was nothing that could be done.  I’ve only had them for 5 months!  WHY IS THE UNIVERSE AGAINST ME?!?!?!
Update: After going to 3 cobblers, someone finally had the decency to explain to me why my shoes can’t be fixed.  It’s because they’re made of synthetic leather.  Thanks a lot, Steve.  You got me good.

3) The weather has been…not bad.  There are times when I get cold, though, and French people (particularly the teachers I work with) laugh at me and tell me I haven’t felt real cold yet.  Yikes.

4) I’m going home for 2 weeks during my school’s winter break, and I kind of feel bad about how excited I am.  It’s not that I dislike it here, because that’s not the case at all.  I just miss home too!  Also, missing Thanksgiving for the first time in my life is not helping.  Especially since our family’s theme this year is so good.  Side note: for those of you who don’t know, our family does themed Thanksgivings.  It’s not normal, and that’s what I love about it.

That’s all, she wrote….until I think of more things I wanted to add, that is.

Leave a Reply

